Message from the 2023 Convening Institution

Universities have a social responsibility for sustainable development.

City University of Hong Kong (CityU) is honored to take up the convenorship of the Hong Kong Sustainable Campus Consortium (HKSCC) again and chair the executive committee in 2023.  Since its establishment in 2010, the HKSCC has engaged and influenced tens of thousands of students in the tertiary education sector to advance sustainable development.

Universities have a critical and tangible role in developing the principles, qualities, and awareness needed to perpetuate the sustainable development philosophy and improve its delivery.  CityU is committed to the principles of sustainability and continual improvement of its environmental performance, recognising its local and global obligations to the present and succeeding generations.  We are dedicated to providing a green campus and promoting environmental-friendly practices through all our operations.

With the Municipal Solid Waste Charging Scheme expected to be enforced in 2023, one main focus is on waste management, especially on food waste reduction and collection, as well as the limitation on single-use plastics consumption.

We look forward to working with fellow HKSCC members to explore and deliver innovative solutions and contribute to effectuating HKSAR’s pledge to achieve carbon neutrality before 2050.


Prof. LI Wen Jung(李文榮) Brenda Lai (黎鳳鳴)

Co-Chair, HKSCC Executive Committee Co-Chair, HKSCC Executive Committee


There is increasing global attention to climate change and the associated challenges of sustainable development. Asia is a region that is highly vulnerable—in which economic development, environmental degradation, and the growth of the higher education sector have been dramatic in recent decades. Public and private organisations around the world are seeking new ways to respond to these issues. Universities in the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) recognize that they have a responsibility to take up this challenge by contributing to solutions and strategies that will serve our community and the world.

Therefore, the Vice-Chancellors and Presidents of the eight publicly-funded universities in the HKSAR signed the Hong Kong Declaration in May 2010—a statement of principles which highlights the importance of sustainable development in light of climate change, and a commitment to provide appropriate responses to the ensuing challenges through the universities’ core missions of research, teaching and knowledge exchange. The Hong Kong Declaration also acknowledges the importance of universities to serve as models within the community and to work across communities to forge appropriate solutions.

With the signing of the Hong Kong Declaration, all the eight institutions joined hands to form the Hong Kong Sustainable Campus Consortium (HKSCC) in 2010.

HKSCC Strategic Plan 2019–2027

One of the many positive outcomes of the HKSCC over the past eight years was the coalescing of a strong sustainability vision among the eight schools. While each school remained unique in character, the identity of the consortium took shape as a collective force for promoting sustainability within our larger higher education community. First by sharing ideas, approaches, and data, and later by collaborating on areas of interest, the consortium now has a solid foundation for promoting sustainability within the Hong Kong university sector. Over the next eight years, the consortium has the potential to move beyond a platform of sharing to a platform for developing more dynamic and active collaborative sustainability solutions. This 2019–2027 Strategic Plan sets forth goals, strategies, and tactics for achieving this vision.  

HKSCC Executive Committee

Member universities take turns to take up the HKSCC convenorship on a yearly basis, with secretarial support provided by the convening institution. In 2013, the HKSCC agreed to move the term of the convenorship from an academic year to a calendar year. In 2021, the consortium established the HKSCC Executive Committee, which is chaired by the convening institution. 

2022                 The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

2021                 The Chinese University of Hong Kong

2020                 The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

2019                 The University of Hong Kong

2018                 Lingnan University

2017                 The Education University of Hong Kong

2016                 Hong Kong Baptist University

2015                 City University of Hong Kong

2014                 The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

2012–2013      The Chinese University of Hong Kong

2011–2012      The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

2010–2011      The University of Hong Kong

Members of the HKSCC Executive Committee in 2023:

City University of Hong Kong (Convening Institution) 

Professor Wen Jung LI 

Vice-President (Talent and International Strategy)

Chair Professor of Department of Mechanical Engineering 

Ms Brenda LAI

Director of Facilities Management

Ms Christine OW CHOW 

Vice-President (Administration) and Secretary


Director of Estates

Professor Paulina WONG 

Associate Professor and Head of Science Unit 

Mr Dennis WONG Chiu Lung 

Director of Campus Development and Management

Mr Eric S. P. NG

Vice-President (Administration) and University Secretary

Mrs Cecilia S. S. LAM

Chief Sustainability Officer

Director, Social Responsibility and Sustainable Development Office

Mr Wai Tat LAU 

Director of Estates

Professor HO Wing-kei Keith

Acting Head of Department of Science and Environmental Studies

Professor Christopher CHAO

Vice President (Research and Innovation)

Chair Professor of Thermal and Environmental Engineering

Mr Lawrence LAU

Director of Campus Facilities and Sustainability


Director, Sustainability/ Net-Zero Office

Adjunct Assistant Professor, Division of Environment and Sustainability

Professor Benjamin STEUER

Assistant Professor, Division of Environment and  Sustainability 

Mr Jeffrey W. Y. SY

Director of Estates

Professor Kaimin SHIH

Professor, Department of Civil Engineering